Home Education

Through out childhood friends I was making, kids in the library and at the swimming pool or even adults who saw me out at mid day would ask me, “What school do you go to?”
When ever I used to tell people that I didn’t go to school, they would ask me the same three questions. ( If they were an adult they might skip the first.)

What’s two add three?
Don’t you get lonely?
So does your mum teach you?

I got so board of answering these questions, so now I am going to answer then once and for all.

p1240227
Red River production of Gilgamesh

1) What’s two add three?

Two add three is five, also since we are at it, e i π + 1 = 0 {\ e^{i\pi }+1=0} where e is Euler’s number, the base of natural logarithms, i is the imaginary unit, which satisfies i2= −1, and π is pi, the ratio of the circumference of a circle to its diameter. Anyone can memorise something, that doesn’t make them smart.
maths

_dsc0569
Teaching each other photography.

2) Don’t you get lonely?

No, we do not get lonely. Being home educated has given way to so many opportunities, I have met so many great people and taken part in so many wonderful projects. I feel that I have developed life long friends as well as life long skills. Not just school entertainment and undernourishment. I am sure that school works well for some people, but personally I have gained a lot from my wonderful friends. Home education is filled with groups, clubs and projects. There are a lot of opportunities. If I was lonely or board that would be due to my own poor time management, something I would have to grow out of fast.

_dsc0588
A student supper.

3) So does your mum teach you?

Yes of coarse she does, and so does my dad and my sister and my little brother and my partner and my friends and my boss and the lady on the bus and the internet and the library and all the books on my shelf and the general experiences of life, and also a club called Red River and my theatre group and my dog and most of all me. I teach me. What ever I want to learn I can. There is no reason not to learn things, knowing stuff is fantastic.

480250_128837253949968_40910442_n
My now Nine year old home educated brother.

My brother is being home educated from the very start, no school unless he wants to. He is eight now and reading fluently. He can read Narnia to himself and spell allowed. He had next to no prompts.

11813294_485310958302594_3287147708876688613_n
The theatre group I am in.

I have a group of thirteen people with which I travel to festivals. The show which we created together gets us in for free.

_dsc0441
Teaching me timing.

Together my friends and I study music. Where one person lacks a skill another will help them out. This kind of education doesn’t have to stop when you reach primary school or secondary school. I am just entering college now, with out GCSE’s, just two functional skills qualifications I got, but I still have jam nights and work in theatre. I now have my own theatrical organisation and have worked several coffee shop jobs.

Leave a Reply

